Previous
project
Next
project
to the list of projects

Greek National Gallery of Art

Pilkington Suncool® 70/35 Pro T

Greek National Gallery of Art

Magnificent views of the ancient Acropolis can be enjoyed from the upper floors of the reconstructed National Gallery building in Athens, Greece. According to the plans, it will open its doors to visitors in March 2021. This is one of the most visited cultural places in Greece – for a couple of decades before closing for reconstruction in 2013, the gallery was visited by almost 6 million guests. The collection of exhibits amount to nearly 20 thousand.

The reconstruction was commissioned by the Greek Ministry of Culture. To the existing 9 thousand square meters of space, another 11 thousand will be added. There will be additional exhibition halls, art storage facilities, an amphitheater with 235 seats, administrative offices, spaces for educational programs, a cafe and a restaurant.

The gallery will be equipped with modern digital equipment, worth more than 2 million euros. Thanks to the technical means, the exhibition will become more interactive. The reconstruction involves increasing the seismic stability of the building. In addition, the new exhibition areas will meet the requirements of a barrier-free environment. 

The facades of the building are fully glazed. Which provides natural light in the exhibition halls. Passages, galleries and fences are all made of glass. The facility used Pilkington Suncool® 70/35 Pro T product from the architectural line of a neutral shade with a reflection coefficient close to ordinary float glass. The high light transmission of the selective glasses will allow you to enjoy the exposure in a comfortable light. A low solar factor will ensure the safety of the exhibits of the National Gallery.

  • Project National Gallery
  • Address Attica Periphery, Athens, Greece
  • Building 2019-2021
  • Architect The Architectural Design and Consultancy Company “Dionyssios Vassilopoulos & Associates L. P.
  • Glass

Greek National Gallery of Art

Великолепный вид на древний Акрополь открывается с верхних этажей реконструированного здания Национальной галереи в Греческих Афинах. По планам она распахнет двери для посетителей в марте 2021 года. Это одно из самых посещаемых культурных мест Греции – за пару десятилетий до закрытия на реконструкцию в 2013 году в галерее побывали почти 6 млн гостей. Фонд экспонатов приближается к 20 тысячам.

Заказчиком реконструкции выступило министерство культуры Греции. К существующим 9 тысячам квадратных метров площадей добавят еще 11 тысяч. Тут появятся дополнительные вставочные залы, хранилища произведений искусства, амфитеатр на 235 мест, административные помещения, пространства для образовательных программ, кафе и ресторан.

Галерею оснастят современным цифровым оборудованием, стоимостью более 2 млн евро. Благодаря техническим средствам экспозиция станет более интерактивной. Реконструкция предполагает повышение сейсмической устойчивости здания. Кроме того, новые выставочные площади будут отвечать требованиям безбарьерной среды.

Фасады здания полностью застеклены. Что обеспечивает естественное освещение в выставочных залах. Из стекла выполнены переходы, галереи и ограждения. На объекте использовали продукт Pilkington Suncool® 70/35 Pro T из архитектурной линейки нейтрального оттенка с коэффициентом отражения, близким к обыкновенному флоат-стеклу. Высокое светопропускание селективных стекол позволит наслаждаться экспозицией в комфортном освещении. А низкий солнечный фактор обеспечит безопасность экспонатов Национальной галереи.

  • Проект Greek National Gallery of Art
  • Адрес Attica Periphery, Athens, Greece
  • Строительство 2019-2021
  • Архитектор Dionyssios Vassilopoulos & Associates L.P.
  • Стекло