Previous
project
Next
project
to the list of projects

Apple Store New York

Pilkington Optiwhite®

Apple Store New York

Opened in May 2006 on Fifth Avenue in New York City, Apple's flagship store has a total area covering 4,000 square meters and also has 5 underground floors. With the exception of the entrance, the glass cube with a height of 32 feet, a concept which was invented by Steve Jobs and architect Bohlin Cywinski Jackson.

The cube consists of many multi-layered panels measuring 1,000 cm in height and 48 cm in length. The roof panels were supported by 10 horizontal glass beams with 24 vertical support walls connecting the glass panels of the facade.

The beams and support walls are made of Pilkington Optiwhite® glass with a low iron content, which reduces heat loss and the risk of destruction during temperature changes. The product has maximum light transmission and provides natural color reproduction, which is an important nuance, given that the main rooms are located underground.

The unusual entrance group allows the mall to become one of the most photographed attractions in Manhattan.

  • Project Apple Store New York
  • Address 767 Fifth Avenue New York, NY
  • Building 2006
  • Architect Bohlin Cywinski Jackson
  • Фасадная компания Eckersley O’Callaghan (UK)
  • Glass

Apple Store New York

Открытый в мае 2006 года на Пятой авеню в Нью-Йорке, флагманский магазин Apple общей площадью 4 000 кв. м. разместился на 5 подземных этажах. За исключением входной группы – стеклянного куба высотой 32 фута, концепцию которого придумали Стив Джобс и архитектор Болин Цивински Джексон.

Куб состоит из множества многослойных панелей размером 1 000 см в высоту и 48 в длину. В качестве опоры панелей крыши были использованы 10 горизонтальных стеклянных балок с 24 вертикальными опорными стенками, соединяющими стеклянные панели фасада.

Балки и опорные стенки выполнены из просветленного стекла Pilkington Optiwhite® с низким содержанием железа, за счет чего уменьшаются теплопотери и риски разрушения при перепаде температур. Продукт обладает максимальным светопропусканием и обеспечивает естественную цветопередачу – важный нюанс, учитывая, что основные помещения находятся под землей.

Необычная входная группа позволила торговому центру стать одной из самых фотографируемых достопримечательностей Манхэттена.

  • Проект Apple Store New York
  • Адрес 767 Fifth Avenue New York, NY
  • Строительство 2006
  • Архитектор Bohlin Cywinski Jackson, Steve Jobs
  • Фасадная компания Eckersley O’Callaghan (UK)
  • Стекло